CSNAP Student Conference

Started in 1993, this event brings college students together to network, share ideas, and develop skills that help them be more effective leaders of community and civic engagement efforts. Workshops, speakers, and activities address topics such as volunteerism, leadership, service-learning, social entrepreneurship, and advocacy.

Starting in 2019 CSNAP moved to a biennial calendar and is hosted in November on even-numbered years. On the odd-numbered years, the Community Change Collegiate Challenge (4C) is held. CSNAP moves around the state to different campuses in the network. The schedule includes a Friday evening gathering and a full day on Saturday.  During the Saturday program, we recognize Community Impact Student Award recipients from each member campus and present the Barnhill Civic Trailblazer Award to one outstanding student in the state. The Marshall Alternative Break Scholarship is also presented. Learn more about our Awards.

Who should attend?
Students and student leaders who care about civic and community engagement, social change, and service. All college students are welcome, even if your campus is not currently a member of the Campus Compact network. Faculty and staff may also attend.

What does “CSNAP” mean?
The name CSNAP (say “see – snap”) captures the big ideas we hope participants will explore: Citizenship, Service, Networking, and Partnerships.

Can a student lead a workshop?
YES! The majority of CSNAP conference workshops are led by students. Start planning now, as the Call for Workshop Proposals goes out in September for an early October deadline.

Workshops are 50 minutes. We seek proposals for workshops that will:
* help college student leaders develop leadership and advocacy skills
* increase student knowledge of current social issues
* introduce participants to community service ideas or programs that could be replicated on other campuses.

Previous CSNAP Host Campuses

1993 – Elon University

1994 – (hiatus)

1995 – Elon University

1996 – Wake Forest University

1997 – Elon University

1998 – Elon University

1999 – Elon University

2000 – Meredith College

2001 – UNC Chapel Hill

2002 – Appalachian State University

2003 – UNC Greensboro

2004 – Duke University

2005 – Appalachian State University

2006 – NC State University

2007 – East Carolina University

2008 – High Point University

2009 – Western Carolina University

2010 – NC Wesleyan College & Johnson C. Smith University

2011 – Wake Forest University

2012 – UNC Wilmington

2013 – Central Piedmont Community College & Queens University of Charlotte

2014 – NC State University

2015 – UNC Pembroke

2016 – UNC Asheville

2017 – Winston-Salem State University

2018 – Fayetteville State University