Our annual awards recognize outstanding community and civic engagement occuring on member campuses across our state. Student awards, except where noted, are selected in the fall and presented at the CSNAP Student Conference. Faculty, staff, partner, and presidential award nominations are due in December, and awards are presented at the PACE Conference.

Below is a brief summary of each award. For full details click on the award listed in the left-hand side bar.

For Students

Community Impact Student Award
Our Community Impact Student Awards recognize an outstanding, full-time undergraduate or graduate student service leader from each member campus. Impact Award recipients should demonstrate commitment to partnering with others to address community issues, ability to lead and inspire fellow students, and sustainable impact in their area of work. Each member campus selects its own CISA recipient, who is then recognized by the Compact.

John H. Barnhill Civic Trailblazer Award
Created in 2011 to honor John H. Barnhill, the founding executive director of NC Campus Compact, the Civic Trailblazer Award is given to ONE from the statewide network. Nominees — one per campus — must be undergraduate students in their final (senior) year. The Civic Trailblazer should demonstrate innovation in civic engagement, work to integrate their service into campus structures, inspire others to serve, and make a meaningful impact on campus or community.

Marshall Alternative Break Scholarship
The Marshall Alternative Break Scholarship provides up to $250 to support a student’s participation in an alternative break program organized by a member campus. The scholarship was created in 2015 by Aaron Marshall, a former student award winner and alum of Western Carolina University. Any student from a member campuses by apply.  Preference is given to students who currently receive financial aid, and/or who are Active Duty, Reservist, National Guard, or a Veteran or their dependent.

Newman Civic Fellowship (national)
Sponsored by national Campus Compact, the Newman Civic Fellowship recognizes and supports community-committed students who are changemakers and public problem-solvers at member institutions. Fellows are nominated by their president or chancellor to take part in a year-long training program offered by the national Compact, which seeks to nurture their passions and help them develop strategies for social change. The fellowship is named for Campus Compact founder Frank Newman.
Learn more

For Faculty and Staff

Engaged Faculty Award
The Engaged Faculty Award
recognizes one faculty member in the state for exemplary engaged teaching and scholarship, including leadership that advances students’ community and civic learning, conducting community-based research, fostering reciprocal community partnerships, and building institutional commitments to service-learning and community engagement.

Engaged Scholarship Prize
Launched in 2020, this prize was developed by NC Campus Compact in partnership with Dr. Frank Gilliam, Chancellor of the University of North Carolina at Greensboro, to grow and promote the scholarship of engagement in North Carolina.  

Community Engagement Professional of the Year Award
The Community Engagement Professional of the Year Award recognizes a staff person at a member campus who has worked to institutionalize service, fostered a vision of service, supported faculty and students, and formed innovative campus-community partnerships.  

The Thomas Ehrlich Civically Engaged Faculty Award (national)
Sponsored by national Campus Compact, this award recognizes one senior faculty member (post-tenure or middle-to-late career at institutions without tenure) from the national network. Criteria are the same as for our statewide Engaged Faculty Award.
Learn more

For Presidents and Chancellors

Leo M. Lambert Engaged Leader Award
Launched in 2012 at NC Campus Compact’s 10th Anniversary event, the Lambert Engaged Leader Award recognizes a presidential leader who is building a campus that engages in reciprocal partnerships to impact a community’s greatest challenges. The award winner is nominated and selected by the Compact’s Executive Board, and the award is presented at the Presidents Forum. 

For Community Partners

Community Partner Award
Given for the first time in 2019, the Community Partner Award recognizes one community partner in the state that has engaged in the development of a sustained, reciprocal partnership with an NC Campus Compact member institution.