Civic Engagement Professional of the Year

The Civic Engagement Professional of the Year Award recognizes a staff person at a member campus who has worked to institutionalize service, fostered a vision of service, supported faculty and students, and formed innovative campus-community partnerships.  The award is presented during the PACE conferenceNominations typically open in mid-September and close the first week in November. 

2022 Nominations Now Open!

Call for Nominations│ Deadline: December 3

2021 Recipient

Marianne Magjuka, Ed.D.
Assistant Dean of Students
Executive Director, Office of Civic & Community Engagement
Director, Winston-Salem Community Action Coalition
Wake Forest University

Dr. Magjuka received the award on February 10, 2021 during the virtual PACE Conference.
Read the press release here.
Read the Inside WFU article.

Past Recipients

2020Dr. Lori Kniffin, UNC Greensboro

2019Sean Langley, UNC Charlotte

2018 – Charlotte Williams, Lenoir-Rhyne University (Sustainer Award) and Dr. Tamara Johnson, UNC Charlotte (Emerging Leader)

2017 – Dr. Smith Jackson, Elon University

2016 – Cathy Kramer, Warren Wilson College (Sustainer) and Kelly Misiak, Pfeiffer University (Emerging Leader)

2015 – Dena Shonts, Central Piedmont Community College (Sustainer) and Dr. Lane Perry, Western Carolina University (Emerging Leader)

2014 – Dr Emily Janke, UNC Greensboro (Sustainer) and Rev. Dr. Joe Blosser, High Point University (Emerging Leader)

2013 – Elaine Madison, Duke University

2012 – Aubrey Swett, UNC Pembroke

2011 – Mary Morrison, Elon University

2010 – Jenny Huq, UNC-Chapel Hill

2009 – Julie Lawson, Peace College (Emerging Leader); Dr. Stacey Riemer, Davidson College (Sustainer); and Dr. Susan Harden, UNC Charlotte (Innovator)

2008 – James Shields, Guilford College

2007 – Jenny Koehn, Appalachian State University

2006 – Jason Denius, East Carolina University