Community Impact Student Award

Since 2006, the Community Impact Student Awards recognize an outstanding, full-time undergraduate or graduate student service leader from each member campus. Impact Award recipients should demonstrate commitment to partnering with others to address community issues, ability to lead and inspire fellow students, and sustainable impact in their area of work. Each member campus selects its own Impact Award recipient, who are then recognized by the Compact.

Starting in 2019, the award is only presented on even-numbered years during the CSNAP Student Conference.  The call for nominations is the second week in August and the nominations are due the first week in October. The award is not presented during odd-numbered years when we host the Community Change Collegiate Challenge (4C).

 2018 Community College CISA winners

The award may honor an individual for multiple or diverse forms of engagement including: volunteer service, service-learning, policy work, community organizing, advocacy, internships, or campus leadership. All award winners should clearly demonstrate:

  • Deep commitment to partnering with others to address community issues
  • Outstanding ability to lead and inspire fellow students to engage
  • Evidence of sustainable impact of their work

                 2018 UNC system CISA recipients

Community Impact Award winners are selected by each campus. Any full-time, undergraduate or graduate student at a member campus is eligible.

Now accepting nominations for the 2020 CISA!
Deadline: October 21, 2020

Special Announcement!

Since the CSNAP 2020 Student Conference is cancelled, we will host a virtual “Engagement Matters” Student Engagement Awards Ceremony on November 13, 2020 from 3:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. Award winners and campus administrators will receive an invitation after the nominations close. Parents and friends are welcome to join! Stay posted for details.

Winners receive a framed certificate and are recognized on stage at the CSNAP Student Conference and in the program. The Compact prepares a press release highlighting their accomplishments.

Click above for the list of all previous winners (2006-present). The document is a spreadsheet with a tab for each year.