Engaged Faculty Award

2020 recipient (l to r) Dr. Beth-Wall Bassett, Western Carolina University, with Chancellor Kelli Brown

The Engaged Faculty Award recognizes one faculty member in the state for exemplary engaged teaching and scholarship, including leadership that advances students’ community and civic learning, conducting community-based research, fostering reciprocal community partnerships, and building institutional commitments to service-learning and community engagement. The award is presented during the PACE conference. 

Nominations typically open mid-September and close the first week in November.

2022 Nominations Now Open!

Call for Nominations│ Deadline: December 3

2021 Recipient – Steven M. Virgil, J.D.
Wake Forest University

Steve Virgil, Professor in the Wake Forest School of Law received the 2021 Engaged Faculty Award on February 10, 2021 during the virtual PACE Conference.
Read the press release here.
Read the Inside WFU article.


Between 2006 – 2017, NC Campus Compact presented the Robert L. Sigmon Service Learning Award recognizing one faculty member in the NC Campus Compact network who made significant contributions toward furthering the practice of service-learning. The award was named in honor of Robert L. Sigmon (bio), service-learning pioneer and North Carolina native. In 1967, along with Bill Ramsay and Wendell Russell, he coined the phrase “service-learning” to better describe the community-based internships they facilitated at the Southern Regional Education Board. In 2009, Mr. Sigmon donated his personal library and research to Elon University to create the Robert L. Sigmon Service-Learning Collection. In 2016, the archive was digitized and is now available online.

In 2017 Sigmon humbly expressed his desire that his name be removed from the award because “it is the service-learning movement in its many variations, rather than any one or two individuals who need to be recognized. The S-L language has now had a 50 year run with all kinds of frameworks added and subtracted.” To honor his wishes we have expanded the award beyond service-learning to recognize other forms of engaged teaching and learning.  Sigmon also reminded us that the “the key factor in service-learning relationships is the acceptance of the potential learning for all the parties involved as well as the recognition that each can be of some service or help with the others.” As a result we launched the Community Partner Award in 2019.

Past Recipients

Click on the name to read story/bio.

2020Dr. Beth Wall-Bassett, Western Carolina University
2019Dr. Alessandra Von Burg, Wake Forest University
2018Dr. Annie Jonas, Warren Wilson College
2017 – Dr. David Malone, Duke University
2016 – Dr. Patricia Bricker, Western Carolina University
2015 – Mr. Travis Hicks, UNC Greensboro
2014 – Dr. Jim Cook, UNC Charlotte
2013 – Dr. Rebecca Dumlao, East Carolina University
2012 – Dr. Spoma Jovanovic, UNC Greensboro
2011 – Dr. Della Pollock, UNC Chapel Hill
2010 – Dr. Michele Gillespie, Wake Forest University
2009 – Pam Kiser, MSW, Elon University
2008 – Dr. Cheryl Brown, Greensboro College
2007 – Dr. Rachel Willis, UNC Chapel Hill
2006 – Dr. Betsy Alden, Duke University