PACE Conference

NC Campus Compact’s annual PACE Conference seeks to grow and share the practice and scholarship of engagement. Plenary and breakout sessions advance the higher education SLCE (service-learning and community/civic engagement) field by sharing research findings, innovative programs and partnerships, effective curricular or co-curricular models, strategies for institutional capacity building, and best practices. Faculty, staff, students, and community partners are all welcome to explore “Pathways to Achieving Civic Engagement.” 

At PACE, the Compact also presents its annual Engagement Awards to an outstanding faculty, staff member, president or chancellor, and community partner from the network. Learn more about our Awards.

The Call for Proposals is typically released in September, with a deadline in early November.

2020 PACE Conference – February 12, 2020 at Elon University

Registration closes January 24, 2020
Fees are $125 pp for Campus Compact member institutions/$150 for non-members.

Lodging [Deadline extended to Wednesday, January 22]

We have reserved blocks of rooms at two local hotels. The group rate will end Monday, January 20, 2020. Reservations made after this date will be subject to prevailing rate and availability.

The Drury Inn
1767 Glidewell Drive
Burlington, NC 27215
Event rate: $89.99 plus fees & taxes
Follow this link to make lodging reservations at the Drury Inn: NCCC CEI
Reservations may also be made by calling 1-800-325-0720 and refer to group number 2399531.

The Inn at Elon [only 7 rooms available]
605 North O’Kelly Avenue,
Elon, NC 27244
This is Elon University’s new on-campus hotel opening in January 2020. Please note that 100% of hotel profits fund University scholarships.
Event rate: $119 plus fees & taxes
Follow this link to make lodging reservations at The Inn at Elon.

Keynote Speaker

Jennifer Domagal-Goldman is the executive director of the ALL IN Campus Democracy Challenge at Civic Nation.

Prior to joining the Challenge, Dr. Domagal-Goldman served as the national manager of the American Democracy Project, a national civic learning and democratic engagement network of the American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU).

Dr. Domagal-Goldman serves on the editorial board of the eJournal of Public Affairs. She has contributed to a number of civic engagement publications, including co-authoring chapters in Reimagining Democratic Societies: A New Era of Personal and Social Responsibility (2013), Becoming a Steward of Place: Four Areas of Institutional Focus (2014), and Student Civic Outcomes in Service Learning: Conceptual Frameworks and Methods (2017). She also contributed to Higher Education’s Role in Enacting a Thriving Democracy: Civic Learning and Democratic Engagement Theory of Change (2018). 

Dr. Domagal-Goldman earned her PhD in higher education from Penn State. She received her MA in higher education and student affairs administration from the University of Vermont and her bachelor’s degree from the University of Rochester.


Brief History of PACE

1998 – Elon University hosts 1st “Service-Learning Institute” in partnership with NC Campus Volunteers (NCCV) Coalition
2003 – NC Campus Compact becomes the conference host
2004 – Name changed to Service-Learning Conference
2009 – Name changed to PACE
2011 – Inaugural Presidents Forum hosted in conjunction with PACE

Past PACE Conferences

The list includes the year and keynote speakers. All PACE conferences are held at Elon University, unless otherwise indicated.

2019 at UNC Greensboro
Dr. John B. King, Jr., president and CEO of the Education Trust
Dr. Adam Gismondi, Director of Impact, Institute for Democracy & Higher Education, Tufts University

Dr. Nick Longo, chair of Public and Community Service Studies and professor of Global Studies at Providence College hosted at Elon University.

We suspended PACE in 2017 to encourage support of the Gulf South Summit  hosted at UNC Greensboro.

2016 at High Point University
Dr. Edward Zlotkowski, Dr. Patti Clayton, and Dr. Sarah Stanlick, Service Learning and Community Engagement Future Directions Project

See highlights here.

Dr. Rick Battistoni, Professor of Political Science and Public and Community Service Studies, and Director of the Feinstein Institute for Public Service, at Providence College
Dr. Byron White, Vice President for University Engagement and Chief Diversity Officer at Cleveland State University

See highlights here.

2014 at UNC Wilmington
Dr. Jody Kretzmann, co-founder and co-director of the Asset-Based Community Development (ABCD) Institute, Northwestern University
Dr. Barbara Holland, Researcher and Consultant

See highlights here.

Dr. Peter Levine, Lincoln Filene Professor of Citizenship & Public Affairs,   Jonathan Tisch College of Citizenship and Public Service, Tufts University and Director, CIRCLE, The Center for Information and Research on Civic Learning and Engagement
Dr. Judith Ramaley, President Emerita and Distinguished Professor of Public Service, Portland State University and President Emerita, Winona State University

2012 at the Friday Center, UNC Chapel Hill (Special 10th year Anniversary event)
Dr. Caryn McTighe Musil, Association of American Colleges and Universities
President Mark Gearan, Hobart and William Smith Colleges
Chancellor Nancy Cantor, Syracuse University

Nicole Gallant, Director, Learn & Serve America, Corporation for National & Community Service

Dr. Robert W. Franco, Kapi’olani Community College, University of Hawai’i
Robert L. Sigmon, Service-Learning pioneer

Jamie Merisotis, Lumina Foundation for Education

Dr. Kenneth Reardon, Cornell University

Dr. Barbara Holland, Director, Service-Learning Clearinghouse

Dr. Janet Eyler, Vanderbilt University

Dr. Edward Zlotkowski, Bentley College & Senior Faculty Fellow, Campus Compact
James Williams, Student Engaged Scholar, Campus CompactWe also hosted a Faculty Development Institute on Service Learning in 2005 featuring the following:
Dr. Robert Bringle, Director of the IUPUI Center for Service and Learning,
Dr. Gary Hesser, Professor of Sociology at Augsburg College
Dr. Andrew Furco, Director of UC Berkeley’s Service Learning Research and Development Center

Dr. Barbara Jacoby, University of Maryland – College Park

Alice-Anne Kern A.K. Powe Elementary School in Durham
Dr. Rosalind R. Reichard , VP for Academic Affairs, Meredith College
Dr. Norman Clark, Appalachian State University
Darris Means, student leader, Elon University